The Intern Files: Part I

2013 is shaping up to be a busy year for us here at DHS. We have many exciting programs in the works, and that means there’s lots to do! This month, we’ve been fortunate to have the help of three interns. Not only is it wonderful to have the extra pairs of hands, but we appreciate the unique set of skills and interests that they each offer. We thought it would be fun to let them share their experiences in order to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what we’re up to. First up is Meg!

I have always been a “nerd” (and I use nerd in the most endearing way possible). We all have our things that we’re nerdy about–mine is photography and books. It’s been that way since I was a child when I read every night before bed and took my first blurry photographs of my family’s cats. Now in my adult life I’ve continued my photography and love of books into my studies at the University of Delaware. I am majoring in Fine Arts with a concentration in Photography and Sculpture, and I also work in the Book Conservation lab in the Morris Library on-campus. Part of my requirements of not only graduating, but my own goals of gaining necessary life skills, was to obtain an internship. I found the Delaware Historical Society when my advanced photography class came for a visit. I was immediately captured by the wealth of information and the fact that I could see myself working in an environment like this. I knew all the skills I’ve developed over these past few years would be very helpful to the staff here at DHS.

Ambrotype of William Parker, ca. 1860s. Photo by Meg Thomas.
Ambrotype of William Parker, ca. 1860s. Photo by Meg Thomas.

Interning here has been a fun excursion into the history of the city I’ve grown up in and it’s been a great journey so far. On one hand, I find myself marveling at how little I actually know and on the other, I’m thanking my parents for being zealous in involving me in local historical camps and programs when I was a kid. Within my first week, I was scanning photos of Old Swedes Church where my sock-covered feet ran through the snow for the Santa Lucia Festival when I was 9, taking photographs of newspaper articles about African-American voting rights from the late 1800s, and reading a letter written by Abraham Lincoln to some local schoolchildren, thanking them for their support. My nerdy photographic side is constantly being entertained because of DHS events and collections work. One memorable moment was when I photographed a pair of Ambrotypes of a soon-to-be married couple from the Civil War era. Not only do we have their portraits that they sent to each other, but we also have snippets of their correspondence. Needless to say, it was fascinating to get a peak into their lives.

Students from Kuumba Academy decorate Old Town Hall for holiday event.
Students from Kuumba Academy decorate Old Town Hall for holiday event. Photo by Meg Thomas.

There’s always something new to learn and I’m excited to continue with my internship at the Delaware Historical Society!

–Meg


Leave a Reply

